Talk anything related to Mule Deer
Sponsored by: http://www.muledeermania.com
TexasHunter83
2 point
2 point

Almost time!!

Post by TexasHunter83 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:38 am

Hey there guys (and gals),

I've got about 5 1/2 weeks left and I'm off to unit 711 in Colorado. To say I'm "pumped" is an understatement. I've loaded up on extra camera batteries and memory cards and hope to get a ton of footage for you to enjoy.

Finally getting my hands on a ATV trail and road map, I've been scouring Google Earth to look for some spots I perceive to be good. Seeing as how this is my first time hunting Mule Deer, my perception could be seriously flawed. Huntingal, as well as a few others, have been extraordinarily helpful in providing me with some sound advice and tips about hunting Mule Deer in SW Colorado. The help is greatly appreciated. If anyone has any last minute advice or tips I would certainly be appreciative of that as well. Not looking for Honey Holes, just some sound advice on how I can track down a shooter buck.

Unforatunatly I'm going to be unable to walk long distances and get "miles" away from the ATV trails because I've had some lung surgeries and I'll certainly be sucking some wind going from 60ft elevation up to about 7000ft-8000ft elevation. I did "decently" well in Wyoming at about 5000ft-6000ft but I had to walk slowly and take my time; as well as avoid taking steep inclines. Humping my way across a mountain range is out of the question though I'd love to do it.

Anyway, I'm marking "X"'s on the Calander and am as excited as I can be. I hope all of you have good luck on your hunts this year. Thanks again.

Brian

bh107
Spike
Spike

Re: Almost time!!

Post by bh107 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 10:37 am

Do you know where you guys are going to base camp yet, and what part of the unit you'll focus on?

TexasHunter83
2 point
2 point

Post by TexasHunter83 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 8:10 pm

Yessir,