Eye dominance problem?

Talk anything related to Shooting, Reloading, etc.
crunch14
2 point
2 point

Eye dominance problem?

Post by crunch14 » Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:09 am

This sucks! I took my .357 4" GP-100 to the range today and couldn't hit the broad side of a barn. My BEST group at 15 yards was 6inches, when in the past I'm in the 2" range (50 rounds fired). On my last cylinder I realized I was using my left eye to aim, well I've never done that before.

I did a little test in the parking lot... Looking through both eyes I held up my thumb so it covered a streetlamp across the street. When I closed my right eye (left eye open) the lamp was still covered, right eye open (left closed) I could see the lamp.

1) Am I correct in assuming I developed an eye dominance problem?
2) How did I develope the problem and how do I fix it?
3)If I can't get over this will it affect accuracy with a scope or shotgun, obviously it does with open sights?

I do wear glasses for astigmatism and have a current prescription, also am a right handed shooter.

Thanks,
Kevin
Just remember they call it hunting not finding. It's all about the stories.
OIF vet 2003 SAPPERS LEAD THE WAY

m gardner
Monster
Monster

Re: Eye dominance problem?

Post by m gardner » Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:25 am

To determine eye dominance I usually have shooters hold out both hands and make a triangle they can see through with their thumbs at the bottom. Move your hands back yo your face and see which eye the hole ends up at and that's your dominant eye. I've got an astigmatism too and it causes me trouble if I'm tired because things go double at times. Like the sights. I've just had to learn what the blurry sights look like when I get a good shot off. I do pretty good using that approach.
Mark

crunch14
2 point
2 point

Post by crunch14 » Tue Mar 02, 2010 7:48 am