Trying to elk hunt in Utah

Talk Anything related to Elk Hunting
firefighterbraun
3 point
3 point

Trying to elk hunt in Utah

Post by firefighterbraun » Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:21 pm

Hey everyone! Just wondering if someone could give me some help with this. I've been hunting deer for a couple years but never been elk hunting. Would like to get into this but I don't know a whole lot about them since all my friends and family hunt strictly deer. I was wanting to buy a any bull tag but I have heard mixed views on this. The any bull units near me (west desert and north oak creek) supposively don't have very many elk in them. I'm not looking to shoot a monster but would like to shoot a bull. I don't know the Wasatch front area very good but I have been up on the extended archery. Just trying to decide whether to get a bow tag or if it would be better to get a rifle or even muzzleloader tag. Any help or advice to get me going would be awesome!

NotEnufTags
Monster
Monster

Re: Trying to elk hunt in Utah

Post by NotEnufTags » Sat Apr 24, 2010 9:01 am

Mr. FFB,

This was the year that I was going to do the same thing your describing. My friends and family hunt deer but not elk. I had a cow tag when I was 16 that went unfilled if thats any indication of how novice we are when it comes to elk. I got insanely lucky and drew a quality LE elk tag at the expo so I'll be doing my learning with the added pressure of lots of potential good bulls around.

You don't have that pressure. If it were me (and it would have been without this tag) I'd consider either a spike tag so you can go to an area with lots of elk and learn elk behavior while having a chance at a harvest, or if you want to go any bull look at the areas up near flaming gorge. I know thats a drive but the any-bull chances of a harvest will be much better up that way.