what grain bullet to use?

Talk Anything related to Muzzleloader
eztatt2003
Fawn
Fawn

what grain bullet to use?

Post by eztatt2003 » Sat Aug 02, 2003 6:48 pm

What grain bullet should i use for mulies? .50 cal. thanks for all inputs. Eztatt

One Track
Fawn
Fawn

Post by One Track » Thu Aug 14, 2003 2:00 pm

Eztatt:

Not a lot of action on the ML board. I am new to shooting a muzzleloader. Just got one a few weeks ago. By now, you are probably off and running. If not, here's what worked for me. I have a buddy shooting the same gun. He is using .348 grain Powerbelts. Great for deer and elk. He would not tell me how much powder. Told me to start at 80 grains of Triple 7, and work up in 5 gr. increments. At 90 gr. I was shooting a less than 1/2 inch group (I swear) at 50 yards. So, that's what I am shooting. From what I read, every gun is different, and likes a different load. You have to experiment. From there I adjusted the sights and brought it in to 3 inches high at 50 yards. Next trip to the range, I will be shooting 100 yards, and then shooting off hand.

I'm a ML rookie, and had a few problems with getting my cleaning jag stuck, and the breech plug stuck as well. But, it's a lot of fun once you get going.

Best to you!
Go get 'em,

One Track

Anonymous

Re: what grain bullet to use?

Post by Anonymous » Tue Jun 01, 2004 11:04 am

eztatt2003 wrote:What grain bullet should i use for mulies? .50 cal. thanks for all inputs. Eztatt