Bullet weight question?

Talk Anything related to Muzzleloader
ShedObsession93
Fawn
Fawn

Bullet weight question?

Post by ShedObsession93 » Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:01 pm

I am new to muzzleloader hunting and will be hunting deer with my 45 cal. muzzle loader this year but i have a question. What is the recommended bullet w/ sabot weight with 2 fifty grain pyrodex pellets for mule deer hunting? any info will help greatly! :-k

ABert

Re: Bullet weight question?

Post by ABert » Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:50 pm

Not sure what state you are going to be hunting but make sure you check the regs. I know of one state that does not allow sabots and pelletized powder.

As for bullet weight, you really need to get out to the range with a variety of bullet weights and find out which weight your rifle likes best.
It ain't the size of the gun but the placement of the bullet.

Huge29
2 point
2 point

Post by Huge29 » Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:49 pm

It seems to be that each setup has its own potion that works just right. As for my personal experience, I like 100 grains of pyrodex with 240 grain Precision Rifle's Dead Center in my Omega. You will likely get 9 different combinations from 10 Omega shooters as there are many variables and preferences, no right answers; some just more better than others j/k. Good luck! It gets a little pricey to try a lot of different ones, but give us more information as to your setup and I would focus on those who have more similar rifles to yours.

ShedObsession93
Fawn
Fawn

Post by ShedObsession93 » Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:48 pm