First time out coyote hunting!

Talk anything related to predators.
ARCHER11
2 point
2 point

First time out coyote hunting!

Post by ARCHER11 » Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:36 pm

Well, I went out coyote hunting for the first time yesterday and had a pretty good time. On my first set up I got some action... I did a fawn in distress call and got a doe all riled up! I set up with my back against a stand of timber overlooking a field and she must have been bedded pretty close by because only 3 or 4 minutes after my first call sequence I heard her come up behind me... She ended up coming out of the trees about twenty yards away looking like she was ready to kill someone. She started trotting my way and was getting a little close for comfort so I made sure she saw and heard me. She started running off and I let out another distress call and she turned around and started running my way again haha I thought for sure I was gonna get my butt kicked by this deer.

Im new to this whole thing so I could use some advice... Is there anything special you look for when looking for a place to hunt? How does everyone go about scouting? I enjoy the whole process, from scouting to getting an animal on the ground (not so big a fan of the work after that) so If you could just help me understand what it is you guys do to scout and find places, that would be very helpful. And if there is anyone out there near the rexburg, ID or Salt Lake area that would be willing to show me the ropes I would definitely love to go out and see how its done.