Tips on training a Brittany?

Ducks, Geese, Turkeys, Quail, Chickens, Grouse, Doves, etc.
bigbuck92
Monster
Monster

Tips on training a Brittany?

Post by bigbuck92 » Sat Jun 29, 2013 1:30 pm

I will be getting a Brittany pup here within the next couple weeks. Just wondering if anybody has any tips on training or recommendations and also would it be to difficult to make it a upland dog and waterfowl. Thanks everybody. Glad to be back to the forums!
Cody
Old hunters NEVER die,they just have better camo.

MuleyMadness
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Tips on training a Brittany?

Post by MuleyMadness » Sat Jun 29, 2013 7:32 pm

Happy Birthday, and sorry I've never trained one myself.

bigbuck92
Monster
Monster

Post by bigbuck92 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:24 pm

Thanks Brett, but ya I am a total newbie when it comes to bird hunting and dog training so if anybody is out there with general advice it would be appreciated.
Cody

ABert

Post by ABert » Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:57 am

No expert by any means, but I do know Brittany's make great upland bird dogs. I'd guess training for upland is the same as for any other breed. Just keep in mind that they are pointers, not flushers.

Not sure how well they'd work out for waterfowl. They are a small breed and I'm pretty sure there are some geese that outweigh them...lol.

You should be able to find plenty of info on the interweb on training Brittany's. They are a GREAT breed, GREAT hunting dogs and GREAT family dogs. They love to run and love to hunt and love to be loved. Congrats on the new pup!
It ain't the size of the gun but the placement of the bullet.

waynedevore

Post by waynedevore » Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:57 am

I am in the middle of training a Brittany pup. He is now just 1 year old.
Very smart dogs.
House broke very very easy.
Not high stung but VERY high energy.
You can't just walk them they will run and run all day. I hope you have a large area for this.