Passing on the shot

Talk anything related to Rifle hunting
TexasHunter83
2 point
2 point

Passing on the shot

Post by TexasHunter83 » Sat Nov 16, 2013 9:43 am

I have a, what may turn out to be retarded, question. Why do people pass on the opportunity to shoot a "shooter" buck? I've seen and heard people give hunting reports where they aren't seeing ANY deer. Then they finally catch sight of a shooter and pass on it because it's not the one they want. Then they come home with nothing. I'm fairly new to the drawing system, but do you get a refund if you don't fill the tag? I was under the impression that when you draw the tag, you pay for it whether you harvest or not. I realize there are probably situations where you may see a shooter the first day but you pass because you've got 8 more days to hunt, and might find a bigger one. But I don't understand why there are those who are paying big money for an out-of-state hunt, then not filling their tag because they didn't find one with huge horns. They'll say, "I saw a ton of smaller ones, just not a big one..." This is a more common practice in Texas because our deer season is 2 months long, and in many counties you can kill more than one buck, but I don't understand the practice when you're paying a good chunk of change to harvest an animal.

I've made up my mind that, when I go, I'm going to fill my tag to the best of my ability. If I don't see that 30" trophy I was looking for I'm going to, at least, fill my tag on a smaller buck and get some meat for the year. I have to pay for the tag anyway right? Why spend all of that money on a tag and trip to come home with nothing? Maybe I'm looking at this wrong, and maybe it's my inexperience with out-of-state hunts, but I just don't see the logic in it.