Advice ?

Talk anything related to Mule Deer
Sponsored by: http://www.muledeermania.com
texscala
Fawn
Fawn

Advice ?

Post by texscala » Tue Jun 21, 2005 4:30 pm

Well this is my first year hunting and I was able to draw a NE buck tag for Utah. I understand that hunting can be difficult and very crowded in the area. I am an avid outdoorsman and mountanineer and am quite sure I can get higher than most people are willing. I have already made plans for my brother and one other friend to come along in hopes there will be a deer to carry out. My question is what kind of things do I need to be looking for on a topo map. Water is obviosly important, but what about cover, should I look for a meadow. I don't want a spot named just an idea of a place where I can expect to find a few bucks come October.

Thanks,

If you really want to help I can sed you the topo I am looking into and you could give me some ideas. The area I am thinking of has a mountain just over 10400 and seems quite isloated to anything other than foot traffic.
If you're not bleeding you are not having fun.

wyomingtrophyhunter
Spike
Spike

Post by wyomingtrophyhunter » Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:55 pm

WOW, WHAT A QUESTION !!

Ok, guys, step up to the plate and help this pilgrim out.

Tex, I will give you my two cents worth, having hunted mule deer for many years but never in Utah:

Obviously, everything needs a drink of water. Some of the finest deer I have seen, however, have been in areas that were 25 miles removed from water, or at least known water holes that might show up on a topo. There are usually a few seep-holes that will carry a limited deer population even in the most arid regions. Muleys are also not allergic to traveling many miles to get to water. It is my understanding that they do not need water everyday.